Saturday, May 15, 2010

Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize

Deadline: 6 August 2010 at 5pm (RECEIVE) or (EMAIL)

Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize

Woollahra Council
Double Bay NSW
23 October to 7 November 2010

Established in 2001, the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize attracts strong support from artists, collectors and critics and is the only national acquisitive prize that showcases the quality and diversity of sculptures of smaller dimensions.

The competition is open to all artists, whether they reside locally, regionally or internationally.

1. For the purpose of The Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize, sculpture is defined as a freestanding, non-site specific, three-dimensional object, constructed of durable materials. Only freestanding works will be accepted for selection.
2. Entries should not exceed 80cm in any dimension, and must have a stable base. The overall weight and dimensions must allow for easy transportation, and not exceed the carrying capacity of two average persons.
3. All entries must be the original work of the submitting artist and must have been designed or completed within two years prior to October 2010.
4. There is no limit to the number of entries an artist can submit. A separate application form and entry fee must accompany each entry. Only one work per artist will be shown in the exhibition.
5. A non-refundable entry fee of $40 (including GST) must accompany each entered work. Entry fees contribute towards the cost of staging the Prize. Woollahra Council reserves the right to cancel or postpone the Prize and exhibition, in which case the entry fees will be refunded.

JudgesThe judges of the 2010 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize are John Kaldor AM (Principal of Kaldor Public Art Projects), Monica McMahon (Curator - University of Western Sydney) and Glenn Barkley (Curator - Museum of Contemporary Art).

Prizes for the 2010 award total $13,000 and include:

•The Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize, an acquisitive award of $10,000
•The Special Commendation, a non-acquisitive award of $2,000
•The Viewers' Choice, a non-acquisitive award of $1,000

Get a copy of the 2010 entry form and check the list of frequently asked questions (FAQ):

Inquiries may be directed to:
Woollahra Municipal Council
Cultural Development Coordinator
Phone: +61 2 9391 7135
Fax: +61 2 9391 7044